WICHE stands for the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, a regional organization headquartered in Boulder that was created in the 1950s to help higher education systems in the western United States share resources with each other. The participating WICHE states and territories are: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

WRGP stands for the Western Regional Graduate Program which is coordinated by WICHE. The WRGP is a tuition-reciprocity program that allows graduate students who live in one of the WICHE states or territories to enroll in certain high-quality, distinctive graduate programs located outside of their home state and yet pay the in-state resident tuition rate. This results in a substantial savings on tuition!

The CU Denver MURP program is a qualified WICHE-WRGP program—the only graduate urban planning program in the Rocky Mountain region that offers this opportunity! Therefore, anyone living in a WICHE state or territory can apply to the CU Denver MURP program as a WICHE-WRGP applicant and, if accepted into the MURP program, pay Colorado in-state resident tuition. For more about WICHE-WRGP, visit their webpage: http://wiche.edu/wrgp

When applying to the CU Denver MURP program, students should indicate they are a WICHE-WRGP applicant and provide a photocopy of their driver’s license that demonstrates they currently reside in a WICHE state or territory.

Go to the main Student Assistance page